Skip to content

THIS SUNDAY BEGAN AS A RAINY DAY

April 27, 2008

This Sunday began as a rainy day. While the plants were being refreshed the resolve of some of our church family was dampened a bit so our numbers were down a little. Yet the family reunited, hugged and caught up with the events of the week. There was so much laughing, a little crying and a whole lot of loving. I love our weekly church family reunions.

We settled in about 5 minutes late as usual as our fellowship was interrupted as the words “To God be the glory, great things he hath done…” rang a little louder than the chatter. The voices quickly came together as we all joined in, “So loved He the world that He gave us His Son…”  We did a lot of praising today!

We always sing a great mixture of songs. Our song leader loves us all so he works hard to make sure that we sing a song some time during the morning that will fill the heart of everyone from our seniors to our little ones. Today we sang a song that was new to us and lifted our hearts.

ONE THING I ASK
Psalm 27:4
One thing I ask of the Lord
This is what I seek
One thing I ask of the Lord
This is what I seek
May I dwell in the house of the Lord?
(Dwell in the house of the Lord)
May I dwell in the house of the Lord?
(Dwell in the house of the Lord)
To seek Him in His temple
To gaze upon His beauty

Repeat All

One thing I ask of the Lord
This is what I seek
One thing I ask of the Lord
This is what I seek
One thing I ask of the Lord
This is what I seek
One thing I ask of the Lord
This is what I seek
This is what I seek
This is what I seek
                    Keith Lancaster

In our lesson we were reminded of the joy that the Spirit grows within us. One observation made was; “Joy comes so natural to children but can seem so awkward to adults”. Hopefully we will remember to watch the children and learn from them what is important in becoming great in the kingdom of heaven (Matthew 18:4)

As we came to the end of our service one of our shepherds highlighted some things and announced a surgery that one of our men would have tomorrow and then he prayed. We call it our Shepherd’s Thought & Prayer time each week.

This was the fourth Sunday of the month and if you’re a member of the Church of Christ you know what we did next; it’s Potluck Sunday and we grabbed our visitors and found our way to the fellowship room! As always the food was great and the fellowship was wonderful. Our visitors were made to feel welcome and our old timers got to tell their church stories again.

Oh, I almost forgot. We did something I’m not sure you’ve ever seen before. One of our elders even asked if what had happened this morning had ever happened before. He was referring to the invitation song we sang. He wanted to know if anyone had ever sang this song as an invitation song before. We sang…

I’VE GOT THE JOY, JOY, JOY, JOY
I’ve got the joy, joy, joy, joy
Down in my heart (Where?)
Down in my heart (Where?)
Down in my heart
I’ve got the joy, joy, joy, joy
Down in my heart (Where?)
Down in my heart to stay
And I’m so happy
So very happy
I’ve got the love of Jesus in my heart (down in my heart)
And I’m so happy
So very happy
I’ve got the love of Jesus in my heart

Well, if the devil doesn’t like it he can sit on a tack (Ouch!)
Sit on a tack
Sit on a tack
Well, if the devil doesn’t like it he can sit on a tack (Ouch!)
Sit on a tack today
And I’m so happy
So very happy
I’ve got the love of Jesus in my heart (down in my heart)
And I’m so happy
So very happy
I’ve got the love of Jesus in my heart

I told him I didn’t think so but that we probably should do it again.

All in all, our church family was blessed today. As I walked away from the building to come home I did so with hopes that God had looked in on us today and Smiled.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Terry permalink
    April 28, 2008 3:03 pm

    As a matter of fact, we have sung that song as an invitation. But then again….we are still a small enough congregation–anything goes! 🙂 I love your blog….up beat and positive! Keep it going, bro! ((Hugs))

  2. April 30, 2008 10:25 am

    Mark – great post bro, it sounds like Sunday was a great day for your church. I love those days!
    I appreciate your positive attitude, and your heart.

    Have a great day!

    BTW – I love that song as an invitation song!

Leave a Reply

