Skip to content

Letters To The Lord

May 1, 2008

Dear Lord,
       You’ve known me for a long time and Your memory is a lot better than mine so, I was wondering if You could help me with something. Do you remember the first time I sang:
             Jesus loves me! this I know,
               For the Bible tells me so.
                                                                   Little ones to Him belong;
                                                              They are weak but He is strong.
       The reason I’m asking is that I’m trying to determine when I first learned that You loved me. I can’t remember a time in my life when I did not know. Wow! That’s incredible!
       That means that on my first day of school in Mrs. Williams class, I knew You loved me. And, when I was in the 5th grade and had my tonsils taken out I knew. And, when I graduated from high school, wondering where do I go from here, I knew. It’s like I’ve always known!
       I can’t imagine what it would have been like if I had not known. I know that my life has been shaped, strengthened, enlightened, and blessed by knowing.
       Thank you for the parents I had and the church family I grew up with. Dad, Mom, Lee, Charlie, Beverly, Mrs. Eva, Mrs. Mac, Brother Covington, Norman and Norma Kay, Brother Slate, and many, many more. All of them played a role in my growing up knowing that You love me.
       WOW! This is the greatest thing of all about being me:Jesus loves me this I know!
                                                                                                       Love
                                                                                                       Mark
Dear Lord,
       Have you ever watched the cartoon Sponge Bob Square Pants?
       The characters of this under water neighborhood are unique to say the least. Sponge Bob is a sea sponge who lives in a two bedroom, pineapple and works as a fry cook of Krabby Patties at the Krusty Krab. His best friend, Patrick is a forgetful, not too smart starfish who lives next door and is a constant source of trouble for SpongeBob. Then there is Sandy Cheeks the dare devil, karate wheeling squirrel who out of necessity lives in an oxygen filled dome. Squidward is a grouchy, squid who thinks he is better than everyone else and is annoyed by everything, especially anything his next-door neighbor and coworker SpongeBob does. Then there is Mr. Krabs the owner of the Krusty Krab who is driven by one consuming force – making money. Mr. Krabs arch-rival Plankton, owner of the Crum Bucket, is a little guy who has a major attitude. He is constantly sabotaging Mr. Krabs business and trying to steal his customers. Then finally there is Gary, Sponge Bob’s beloved meowing snail pet who leaves a slime trail everywhere he goes.

       This is a strange group! A community of misfits, some naive, others cynical, some vindictive, others grouchy, some in their own little world, others innocently creating trouble for the others and finally some leaving slime everywhere they go.
There’s something very familiar about this community but I’m having trouble putting my finger on exactly what it is. Does this look like any other group of people You’ve ever loved?
                                                                                                       Love
                                                                                                        Mark
Dear Lord,
       Did You mean for us to learn anything from the bright colors of the fall leaves?
       Our trip to Tennessee earlier this week was a beautiful trip. The hills and valleys were alive with reds, browns, oranges and yellows. There was one spot where we were traveling on I-65 just south of Nashville and we rounded a curve to a blast of brilliance. The sun was low in the sky, at about eye level. As we rounded the curve the sun set the leaves on fire. It was like an explosion of color. The thought hit me; “All of this color is the result of death.” The leaves are dying.
       What color is heaven? I guess that’s a pretty silly question. Everything I know about life as a Christian leads me to see life now as wonderful but nothing here is worthy to be compared to the glory which is to be revealed (Romans 8:18). You used that word “glory” several times to describe what we will experience in heaven. You said that at death we will appear with You in glory and that we will share Your glory with You. The word glory is a lot like the words radiance, splendor, brightness, majestic…. That sounds like the colors of fall.
       There are a lot of incredible things for us to experience here. Things like: the love of a mother and the strength of a dad, the kiss of a wife or the hug of a daughter, the joy of a Spirit filled life and the victories of a God empowered mission.
       Then there’s heaven. WOW! I bet that’s why You said, Precious in the sight of the LORD is the death of his saints, Ps 116:15 YOU KNOW WHAT’S COMING DON’T YOU!
                                                                                                        Love,
                                                                                                        Mark

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 1, 2008 5:12 pm

    Father,

    I know you have been busy today, what with it being a National Day of Prayer. When I get to heaven I want you to explain to me how you hear all those millions of people at the same time. Is there anything you can’t do…ah, just kiddin’ I know you can do anything. Thanks for listening.

    Love,
    Lee

    Thanks Bro! Great post.

  2. May 1, 2008 5:27 pm

    When Bruce Nolan (Jim Carry) took over for God in Bruce Almighty he used a computer. He programed the computer to just say “yes” to everything people asked for. That didn’t work very well!

Leave a Reply

