Skip to content

CAN YOU HELP ME WITH A SERIOUS THEOLOGICAL QUANDARY?

May 6, 2008

I know that if I was much more in tune with why people do the things they do I would be able to draw some conclusions from the sounds that come from their pockets and belt hooks. We call them ringtones. We’ve all heard them; songs, giggles, screams, cheers, jeers chirping and many other personally chosen favorites.

 

For example when someone calls me on my cell phone it rings. Yes, literally and simply ring, ring, ring…. From this there’s something you can conclude. This guy is boring! And you are right. I am possibly the most boring person ever to have walked the planet. No hobbies, little personality, I love the solitude of home and my idea of a vacation is a secluded location, a couple of books (one being a bible or course) a pencil, yellow highlighter and lots of paper (I would really like to have a computer but that’s optional). Another example is that when someone calls my wife Vicki, her cell phone fills the room with the sounds of “Rocky Top.” Guess what her favorite color is? Did anyone say orange?

 

Why did you choose your ringtone? What does it say about you? Does it evoke memories? Does it illustrate some loyalty you have in your life? What good times does it remind you of? Does it reflect your personality type? Does it reflect the kind of pet you own? I feel sure it says something about you.

 

But this all leads me to the real quandary that has birthed this post; “What Was Jesus’ Ringtone?” Here is His chance to make a statement of some kind to those around Him every time one of the apostles call with a question like, “Now tell me again, what did you want me to do with this little boy’s sack lunch?” or one of His siblings call to check up on their craze brother. Jesus grew as a child, did woodworking, read scripture, cooked breakfast, enjoyed a good party, expressed passion, cried and many other expressions of interest, personality, likes, dislikes…. With the laundry list of ringtone choices which would he choose to reflect Himself?

– Something light and funny?

– Something theologically heavy?

– Something reflective?

– Sounds of animals and nature?

– Reading of John 3:16?

– Maybe his phone is set on vibrate and makes no sound at all.

What Was Jesus’ Ringtone? This question has kept me awake at night long enough. Please help!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Fred Walker permalink
    May 6, 2008 10:08 pm

    Why, His ringtone would be exactly like MINE (which is similar to yours, boring). Don’t we tend to think Jesus would be like each of us?

  2. May 7, 2008 12:14 pm

    Fred,
    There’s something incredible about having a savior who is seen by everyone as belonging to them.
    “Red & Yellow, Black & White He Is Precious In Their Sight……” (a slight rewrite)
    mh

  3. Terry permalink
    May 7, 2008 1:08 pm

    My ringtone is “Fanfare” – an imperative ring that demands to be answered. However, there are times that I choose not to answer. And isn’t that the same with Jesus? His ringtone, I believe, would “knock”. It’s up to each of us to choose to answer the call. 😉

  4. Terry permalink
    May 7, 2008 10:53 pm

    Bud thinks Jesus’ ringtone would be “Can’t buy me Love”….;-)

Leave a Reply

