Skip to content

PLEASE DON’T “YEA BUT” MY GRACE

May 13, 2008

      Please let me get a deep breath of grace before I go back to the hard work of trying to overcome sin and indifference. I love God and yet I know I’m not good. I know more of His word than I can accomplish yet I desire to live without sin. I’ve read both Romans and James and I understand enough of each to know that there is much to be grateful for and much yet to do. I’ve heard Jesus say, If you love me you will do what I say, while realizing I have failed at both.
      I need grace! Not as a cheap substitute for effort. In fact that doesn’t even cross my mind. Like taking a shower I need to be clean again. Like a refreshing drink of sweet ice tea I need to be refreshed. I know there are still many acres to plow and fences to mend but I need to sit under the shade tree of grace and take a deep breath and rest in mercy.
      Please let me be encouraged. Let me unload the weight of the guilt I carry. Let me feel loved, accepted, understood, wanted and believed. I really do love and I need to live in the environment of the love of God in order to survive and to grow up healthily.

Christians Learn What They Live

I’m not thinking here of lives lived with each other but our lives lived with God.

If Christians live with the criticism of God, they learn to condemn.
If Christians live with the hostility of God, they learn to fight.
If Christians live with the threatening of God, they learn to be apprehensive.
If Christians live with the pitty of God, they learn to feel sorry for themselves.
If Christians live with the ridicule of God, they learn to feel shy.
If Christians live with the shame of God, they learn to feel guilty.
If Christians live with the encouragement of God, they learn confidence.
If Christians live with the tolerance of God, they learn patience.
If Christians live with the praise of God, they learn appreciation.
If Christians live with the acceptance of God, they learn to love.
If Christians live with the approval of God, they learn to like themselves.
If Christians live with the blessings of God, they learn generosity.
If Christians live with the the honesty of God, they learn truthfulness.
If Christians live with the fairness of God, they learn justice.
If Christians live with the kindness and consideration of God, they learn respect.
If Christians live with in the security of God, they learn to have faith.
If Christians live with the friendliness of God, they learn the world is a nice place in which to live.

Adapted from, Children Learn What They Live, Dorothy Nolte (1924-2005)
2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 13, 2008 2:25 pm

    Excellent post!

  2. May 15, 2008 8:45 pm

    Mark – excellent post bro!
    I really appreciate your heart, and I need to rest under the shade of the Amazing Grace of God as well.

Leave a Reply

