Skip to content

PREACHING IS AMAZING BUT WHO’S WORTHY?

May 15, 2008

      Today I’m sitting in my easy chair (better known as my home office), wearing my favorite shorts and t-shirt, laptop in lap and working on this week’s sermon. I find myself asking the same questions I’ve asked for years: 

  •  What does God want me to say this week?
  •  What are the best passages to work with?
  •  How can I illustrate the points being taught?
  •  What can I do, that will speak to the teens?
  •  How can I apply the lesson to those with young families?
  •  Will this help anyone become a Christian?
  •  Will it encourage someone who really needs to change their life?
  •  Will those who are older and have heard this before get anything worth while?
  •  How should I begin so I can help them listen from the beginning?
  •  Is there something special I can do with PowerPoint that could help?
  •  Is this really going to meet people’s needs?
  •  Wonder who’s going to be there on Sunday?
  •  What songs might be good to help with the theme?
  •  How many more years will they listen to me?
  •  How much longer will God be able to use me?
  •  etc. etc. etc.

       Preaching is easy/difficult, wonderful/dreadful, exhausting/invigorating, draining/fulfilling, discouraging/inspirational, fun/sad, good/bad, etc. etc., etc. I would never want to do anything else but I quit every Mondays (not really but it sounded good/bad).
      Preaching is amazing but who’s worthy? The only way I can keep doing this is by remembering Abraham’s lies, Moses’ impetuousness, David’s homicidal actions, Judas’ betrayal, Peter’s denial, and Paul’s struggle with the flesh. All of that and God used them anyway. He took them and empowered them, enabled them and worked through them.
      In my weakness I find myself in the very good company of those God has used anyway!

Such is the confidence that we have through
Christ toward God. Not that we are sufficient
in ourselves to claim anything as coming
from us, but our sufficiency is from God,
who has made us competent 
to be ministers
of a new covenant, not of the letter but of the
Spirit. For the letter kills, but the Spirit gives life.
                                     2 Corinthians 3:4-6

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 16, 2008 6:58 am

    Yours is perhaps the most important job on earth. The wonderful truth is that when you preach the word in the power of the Spirit you don’t have to be concerned with the application, that’s God’s business.

    “We will give ourselves to prayer and the ministry of the Word”, those words from the infant church are still the key to productive ministry. Amazingly they did it without powerpoint or the internet! It must have been supernatural! lol

    It has been a long time since Carol and I were at Long Beach. I hope everthing is going well with you and your dear people.

    His peace,
    Royce Ogle

  2. May 16, 2008 9:13 am

    Hi Royce!
    There’s something strange about the PowerPoint stuff. It reminds me of those who followed Jesus to catch a look at another miracle. I feel an obligation (self inflicted) to create PP stuff because people come to expect it now. The real issue is that I love to do that kind of thing. It’s the closest thing I have to hobby.

    Serving as a minister/preacher/pastor is amazing in many many wonderful ways!

    Come see us in Long Beach!

    By HIS Grace!
    Mark

  3. May 16, 2008 9:52 am

    Mark – I’m praying for you bro, what a wonderful opportunity we have to share God’s love and hope with his children.

    About the Power Point…our mothers with young children love it! They always have their hands full, so songs and scripture on PP is such a blessing to them…and so many others.

    I’ll be praying for you for Sunday…I’ll be praying for the Spirit to lead you , and for God to use you in a Powerful way…if he shows up – and he will – then everyone will receive blessing and encouragement from the time spent together.
    I’m very aware of how powerless I am to do anything on my own, other than make a mess…but when I allow God to work in His power through me…WOW…now that’s amazing, and fun to be a part of!

    I’m praying for you – and I appreciate you bro.

  4. May 20, 2008 1:57 pm

    Thank you for your encouragement. It is pretty incredible that God find a use for us in His marvelous Kingdom!

  5. May 21, 2008 2:09 pm

    Excellent post. I’ve often stuggled with “if I have the right to preach,” being such a sinner. Thankfully, I’m reminded God uses my weaknesses.

    Thanks for the reminder

Leave a Reply

