Skip to content

MAY I LEAVE THE TRAINING WHEELS ON?

May 20, 2008

Dear Lord,

It has been a long time since I last wrote but You are on my mind pretty much all the time.

It’s funny how so many things remind me of You.

Two of the grandkids were here this weekend and I could see You in their little faces. It amazes me how there seems to be a piece of You in all of us. The kids seemed so secure and bold when they ran out the door into the back yard and played with the balls, dog, bugs and stuff. And there was a reason why. Every once in a while there was that subtle look around to make sure mom or dad was nearby. Then they go about being secure and bold again. Without the discovery of that subtle look I know nothing would ever happen that was worthy of You. Thank You for never being far from each of us!

And he made from one man every nation of mankind to live on all the face of the earth… that they should seek God, in the hope that they might feel their way toward him and find him. Yet he is actually not far from each one of us, for In him we live and move and have our being…. (Acts 17:26-28 ESV)

There was also the lady on Sunday morning who told me she was thinking that she needed to be baptized. Such a sweet spirited lady who has loved You many years from many different places in her life. She doesn’t want to withhold anything from You and she feels that this is a surrender of herself she needs to make. It’s funny what people do when they get another glimpse of Your worth. They literally turn themselves inside out, exposing the most sensitive parts of themselves and surrendering them to You, Your service and Your eternal care.

Yesterday there was a little boy riding his bike just as fast as his little legs could pedal across a church parking lot. You could tell he was just learning because he had training wheels on the back and his mom was close behind. Maybe my mind works strangely but I saw something that to me was kind of profound. As I serve You I still need training wheels. The second I try it without them I fall over. As I drove out of sight of the little boy I wondered if it would be ok if I left the training wheels on. I know that as a child becomes more steady on two wheels they take the training wheels off. But I don’t think I will ever be able to do that. To try to do this without Your help, grace, favor, guidance, encouragement…. would be spiritual suicide. Wow! I sure feel like a child. Maybe that’s not all bad.

But Jesus called them to him, saying, “Let the children come to me, and do not hinder them, for to such belongs the kingdom of God. I say to you, whoever does not receive the kingdom of God like a child shall not enter it.”
                                                                                   (Luke 18:16-17)

Well, I don’t want to bend Your ear too long so I’ll close for now.

Love
Mark

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2008 3:19 pm

    I was stopped as I left the building Sunday Evening. A young boy and his mother had come by to see if they could find an elder or one of the ministers because Ethan wanted to be baptized. I talked with Ethan and ask him a few questions. He said he wanted to be baptized because he knew Jesus wanted him to. I was struck again with the purity of child like innocence that wanted to do what Jesus wanted him to do.

    As I read you post I thought that I not only want to keep the training wheels on, I don’t ever want to loose that childlike attitude that just wants to do what Jesus wants me to do.

    Another great post little brother! Oh and by the way. I think he likes it when we just go on and on and on…bending His ear.

  2. May 20, 2008 3:33 pm

    It’s sure is a blessing to be able to think of Christ on such warm and friendly terms. Jesus is a tremendous friend while at the same time being deserving of our utmost respect and worship. I love being God’s child and friend.
    By HIS Grace
    mh

  3. May 20, 2008 11:24 pm

    Mark – wonderful post bro…I really appreciate your heart. The thought of leaving the training wheels on is one that I’ll hold on to…I will always need them as well.

    BTW – it’s pretty cool to peek in on a conversation between you and your
    brother…
    Have a good night.

Leave a Reply

