Skip to content

CHOOSING A ROUTE FOR DIFFERENT REASONS

November 17, 2008

signsOur desire for everything to be “black and white” has taken us down a road that is hard to navigate. When we come to the forks in the road we want there to be an arrow pointing in the “correct” direction.

It appears to me that life is very often more a matter of choosing a route for different reasons. For example if I am on my way home and the Colts are going to be on TV playing the Titans in 10 minutes then I need to find the quickest way home. But, if I have just finished a great meal at my favorite restaurant with my favorite lady and the sun is setting in the sky then I need to take a slow drive down Hwy. 90 on the Mississippi Gulf Coast and enjoy the moment. Or, if my little grand kids are in the car then I need to randomly drive from place to place looking for things they would like to see like cows, horses and pretty things with lots of color and pizzazz. In each of three scenarios I am going home but the routes are very different and for good reason.

Some would consider rushing home for the Colts Titans game to be foolish and such a misplacing of priorities. Others would correct my waste of money eating out and the total silliness of traveling Hwy 90 down the beach when it would have been much “better” to take I-10. Still others would wonder if I am nuts for not rushing straight home so I could get the noisy kids, who are arguing in the back seat out of the car and sent to the play room where we don’t have to hear them, rather than searching for cows.

It seems to me that there is something in the relationship between God and ourselves that is right with living this way. God has intentionally not given instructions for a hard right or left hand turn at every intersection. There are times when things are measured differently. There are the measurements of choosing between the good, the better of the best. Then there are the choices between the right and the wrong. But, there are also the choices that fall in between the good, the good and the good. There are the decisions that are made because of the need not because of the efficiency, the feeling not because of the accuracy.

Somewhere in there are the things we do to serve and to express love. …the things that are not practical but need to be done. …the things that are not reflections of our knowledge but reflections of our spirit. …the things that are not a reflection of our convictions but rather reflect the joy of our own blessed life.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Ashley Thornton permalink
    November 17, 2008 12:27 pm

    Dad, this is one of my favorite posts of yours. I have said it many times and I will say it again, you have a way of saying the words right when I need to hear them. I love you!

  2. November 17, 2008 12:34 pm

    You’re my girl and that settles it! God has been very good to both of us, hasn’t He?

  3. Bethany Cook permalink
    November 26, 2008 11:48 am

    Thanks for saying this! It makes me feel better about the route I take when I am not sure “why” I am going that way. I know that the Holy Spirit guides us when we don’t even know it….
    It also makes me feel better about routes that I have taken in the past, that may or may not, have been the best way. God can use even the “wrong” way to achieve his goal. (Even if it’s for no other reason than to show me how stubborn I can be sometimes! :))

    And you two made me tear up! ((Sniff sniff)) 🙂

  4. November 26, 2008 2:09 pm

    Hi Bethany! It’s great to hook up with you on FaceBook too!

    I think an important part of this is that we keep choosing and learning. God can work with our silliness. It is only when we dig in and stagnate that we pretty much make Him impotent to work within us, through us and on us.

    So I guess we keep asking the right questions about the routes we can choose then choose one and keep moving while God works.

Leave a Reply

