Skip to content

I WANT TO GO TO HEAVEN! “SORT OF”

November 25, 2008

ARE WE NUTS!?!?road_to_heaven

Have you heard us talk about heaven like it’s an undesirable option in a list?

WHAT!?!?

Can you believe that we would actually put “Going To Heaven” in a list of other things:

  • There’s the, “I want to see my children grow up first.”
  • Then for those who are older there’s the, “I want to see my grand children grow up first.”
  • There’s also the, “I want to accomplish my dream of __________ then I’ll be ready to go to heaven.”
  • Etc.

YEP, WE’RE NUTS!!!!

For to me to live is Christ, and to die is gain. If I am to live in the flesh, that means fruitful labor for me. Yet which I shall choose I cannot tellI am hard pressed between the two. My desire is to depart and be with Christ, for that is far better. But to remain in the flesh is more necessary on your account. 
                                                                                         (Phil. 1:21-24)

IS PAUL NUTS!?!?

NOPE!!!!
Just ready to go to heaven when God is finished with him.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Terry permalink
    November 26, 2008 1:52 am

    hey bro…how ironic – or is it? that you put this post up. I was thinking on something today and this post drives it home for me.

    “We are not human beings going through a temporary spiritual experience. We are spiritual beings going through a temporary human experience.”

    Keeping focused on God’s plan as a spiritual being rather than a human being puts life into a new? different? perspective. Looking at life through a spiritual mindset (like Paul – in your post above) is humbling and eye-opening. I am disappointed in me for always seeing the human side of things more so than the spiritual side of things. *tsk!

  2. November 26, 2008 8:06 am

    Our agenda will always have unfinished business when Father calls us home. Remember playing as kids. You would get right in the middle of a game or an adventure and then you would hear mama call. Disappointing then, but somehow not so much when He calls.

  3. November 26, 2008 1:55 pm

    Terry
    I like your, “We are not human beings going through a temporary spiritual experience. We are spiritual beings going through a temporary human experience.” I saw it on your FaceBook and have been thinking about it. Puts a different slant of life’s direction.
    Lee
    Haven’t thought about that before. We have plans and are usually in the middle of something God will interrupt whenever He calls. But, sure don’t want to let that discourage Him from calling! 🙂

  4. April 1, 2009 9:31 am

    My 5 year old and I had lots of conversations about all the cool things we were going to do in heaven. Then one Sunday morning he leaned over from the back seat and said to the shock of his mother, “Mom, wouldn’t it be great if we had a wreck on the way to church this morning and died, just so we could all go to heaven.” 🙂

    I had some quick explaining to my wife why he’d say such a thing. There are many times that I need the faith of a 5 year old.

  5. April 1, 2009 10:57 am

    Such a great little heart. Just another reason for the Kingdom to be full of children just like this!Whether 5 or 55 years old.

Leave a Reply

