Skip to content

Where Have You Seen Jesus Today?

February 25, 2012

I woke up in one of those strange blue moods so I was looking for something encouraging before my feet hit the floor. Out of routine I got up, put my tennis shoes and shorts on and struck out on my walk and somewhere between mile 3 and 4 I remembered something. I remembered when we were dealing with the aftermath of hurricane Katrina, and Fred, one of our elders would frequently ask, “Where have you seen Jesus today?” At the time we were looking for inspiration anywhere we could find it and Fred whom we love for his propensity to live in the world of “half full cups” was at work as usual.

Where have you seen Jesus today? Well, if Jesus represents all that is good and for this discussion, He does than I was still in bed when Jesus showed up. Everything from my girlfriend (better known as my wife Vicki) next to me and the daughter and two grand-girls beginning to stir in the other room to the two daughters who live elsewhere along with three more grand-girls, one grand-boy and two and one half son-in-laws :-). Then there is the church family I’ve been blessed with and loved by. Not to speak of the comfortable house and quiet neighborhood. Then there is the joy of knowing God and being loved by Him in Christ. The list can go on and on and still be incomplete.

What I have been reminded of is the foolishness of getting caught up in stuff that desensitizes me to the joy of knowing, trusting and loving God while living as a loving neighbor to the people God has placed in my little peace of life.

Theologian types may find this an over simplification and if you do that’s OK. I’m going to walk with Fred today you can dig deeper and find the more lofty thoughts if you wish but be careful that you don’t miss the simplicity of the love of Jesus as you dig deeper.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Stacy Petty permalink
    February 28, 2012 8:57 am

    You are the best. We are blessed to have you as a father!! God sure knew what he was doing when he placed us all together! I just pray that during those “blue” times, we continue to remember how great we have it! Love you!

    • February 28, 2012 1:00 pm

      Stacy, we are a mess aren’t we?

      The brightest spots in this old man’s life are those who call me honey, dad and grandpa!

Leave a Reply

